
 
Arizona Medical Board 

Important Warning Regarding License Renewal 
 

Renewal applicants should submit their renewal applications as early as possible.  
A.R.S.§ 32-1430(A) requires that a person holding an active medical license shall 
renew the license on or before the licensee’s birthday. Any renewal submitted 30 
days after the licensee’s birthday must also include a penalty fee of $350.00.  
 

PLEASE be aware that if a renewal application is not complete within four months 
after the licensee’s birthday, the license will expire. The renewal is not considered 
administratively complete until all required documents are submitted. See list of 
items below that may render the license application deficient. 
 
PLEASE NOTE: IF THE APPLICATION DEFICIENT ITEMS ARE NOT RECEIVED WITHIN 
60 DAYS OF THE DEFICIENCY NOTICE, YOUR ARIZONA MEDICAL LICENSE WILL 
EXPIRE ON ITS SCHEDULED EXPIRATION DATE. For licensees whose 60 day deadline to 
submit deficient items extends past the expiration date, the license will expire at the 60 day 
deficiency letter deadline set forth in the deficiency letter. 

 

ANY DEFICIENT ITEMS THAT ARE RECEIVED AFTER THE 60 DAY PERIOD 
WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.  IF YOUR LICENSE EXPIRES YOU MAY REAPPPLY 
AS AN INITIAL APPLICANT. 
 

*Deficient Items may include; 
 

 A completed application with payment. Leaving one box unchecked on the application 
may constitute an incomplete renewal. 

 Verification of completed Training Unit, either completed during online renewal or 
submitted with paper renewal form 

o If submitting renewal form by fax or mail, please access the training unit on our 
website, www.azmd.gov > Physician Center > Additional Forms > Training Unit 

 Proof of lawful presence in the United States (if applicable); 

 Citizenship Statement form 

 Verification of Completed Continuing Medical Education (if randomly selected for audit); 
and 

 Corresponding documentation regarding any “yes” answers on either questionnaire 
section of the renewal application  

 A full set of fingerprints on the fingerprint card provided by the Board for purposes of 
obtaining a state and federal criminal records check.  

 
 

If your license expires before a timely and sufficient renewal application is submitted 
to the Board, you must cease practicing medicine in Arizona and you must reapply 
for and receive a new Arizona license before resuming the practice of medicine in 
this State. 
 
Please note that you will NOT receive a wallet card or any other confirmation of 
approval. To view or print a copy of the MD Profile Page/license, go to 
www.azmd.gov > Doctor Search. 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/32/01430.htm&Title=32&DocType=ARS
http://www.azmd.gov/
http://www.azmd.gov/ConsumerCenter/AdditionalForms.aspx
http://www.azmd.gov/Files/Questionnaires/MedicalPracticeActQuestionsAnswers.pdf
http://www.azmd.gov/
http://www.azmd.gov/GLSPages/DoctorSearch.aspx

